Background  [CV]

I am currently a software engineer at X (formerly known as Google[x]), working on seekrit projects involving Haskell, BlueSpec, and hardware design. Naturally, everything I say here, on my blog, and on twitter is personal and in no way reflects X's position on anything.

I have a BA in linguistics with a minor in anthropology from Reed College. I began a masters in computer science at Portland State, and completed it at Johns Hopkins. Between finishing my MSE and starting my PhD, I spent a year as a research programmer working on machine translation. For my doctorate I did a dual degree in cognitive science and computational linguistics at Indiana University. (Actually I am currently ABD, but will finish very soon I hope.) I also worked with IU's computer science department, but was not pursuing a degree with them. In 2011 I did a “post-doc” at McMaster University, helping teach graduate students how to design domain-specific languages and how to implement them in Haskell.

Non-academically, I served on the board of directors at Free Geek where I also volunteered as a build instructor and system administrator. And, while at Portland State, I worked at the CAT teaching Perl and doing system administration for the Maseeh College of Engineering and Computer Science.


All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights.
They are endowed with reason and conscience
and should act towards one another in a spirit of fellowship.

(Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Article 1)

An important part of my life is social justice activism. Due to the intersectional nature of marginalization and oppression, we cannot dismantle any one form of injustice without also tackling others. While it may at times be pragmatically useful to focus on particular topics, these systems of oppression reinforce one another and cannot be easily (nor meaningfully) disentangled. Consequently, I take an extremely wide view of my work towards liberation. My aim is the liberation of all people from all forms of social injustice.

Some issues I take particular interest in include gender/sexuality (esp: femme/​feminine positivism, transgender/​nonbinary/​genderqueer, bisexuality, asexuality, polyamory, and bdsm/​kink), physical & mental ability (esp: autism, anxiety, depression, PTSD, chronic pain, chronic fatigue, dyslexia, visual impairment, mobility impairment, disordered eating), physical, sexual, & psychological abuse, and the combined issues of racism, classism, poverty, colonialism, homelessness, and the digital divide.

I write about these issues on my blog and on twitter. As a starting point for my essays on the subject: this is my definition of “feminism” and “sexism”. Much of my activism is about dismantling Silence Culture. And I currently assume a projectivistic theory of identity.


For fun I read (scifi, fantasy, romance,…), play games (boardgames, videogames, tabletop roleplaying,…), listen to music, and drink way too much coffee. Physically I’m into biking, hiking, and dancing; I was formerly into rockclimbing, fencing, tai ji quan, & aikido, and would love to find communities to get back into them.